The Board of Directors is the policy-making body of the American Montessori Society. It is empowered to formulate policies and to amend the bylaws as needed to fulfill its fiduciary responsibilities and to ensure a vigorous future for the organization.


New directors are elected annually by AMS membership, helping to ensure that their voice is heard in the governance of our organization.

Meet Our Board

The AMS Board is comprised of dedicated professionals representing different constituencies and communities within the Montessori family. Their diverse experiences and expertise ensure that they play a vital role in the success and growth of the American Montessori Society. 

Executive Committee Directors

Amira D. Mogaji

President of the Board

Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum, Instruction,and Assessment, Battle Creek Public Schools, Battle Creek, MI

Hilary Green

Vice President of the Board and Chair of the Teacher Educators Section

Director, Institute for Advanced Montessori Studies, Silver Spring, MD

Debbie Senoff-Langford

Treasurer of the Board

Head of School, Jarrow Montessori School, Boulder, CO

Geoffrey E. Bishop

Secretary of the Board

Executive Director/Founder, Nature’s Classroom Institute and Montessori School, Mukwonago, WI

Anita Hanks


Head of School, Starwood Montessori School, Frisco, TX

Munir Shivji

Munir Shivji

AMS Executive Director

Ex Officio

Board Member Directors

Aimee Allen,

Head of School, Harbor Montessori School, Gig Harbor, WA

Sabrina Binkley

Sabrina Binkley

Head of School, Spruce Tree Montessori School, Fairbanks, AK

Wendy Di

Wendy Di

Founder and President, Beijing Heart and Mind Education Group, Beijing, China

Thomas Emery

Family Representative

Upper Elementary Curriculum Coordinator and Upper Elementary Teacher, Brooklyn Heights Montessori School, Brooklyn, NY

Luz Casquejo Johnston

Montessori & DEI Consultant, Founder of Parenting on Purpose, El Cerrito, CA

Michelle Morrison

Michelle Morrison

Head of School, Princeton Montessori School, Princeton, NJ

Candace Proctor

Chair of the Teachers Section

Lower Elementary Curriculum Coordinator, The Montessori Academy of Arlington, Arlington, TX

Mary Beth Ricks

Head of School, Bowman School, Palo Alto, CA

Laura Saylor 2023

Laura Saylor

Dean & Associate Professor, Mount St. Joseph University, Cincinnati, OH

Jay Scheurle

Jay Scheurle

Chair of the Heads Section

Head of School, Oak Meadow School, Littleton, MA

Michelle Seyller

Michelle Seyller

Chair of the School Accreditation Commission

Assistant Head of School, Thacher Montessori School, Milton, MA