Research Committee

A dynamic group of educators, university faculty, and others, the American Montessori Society Research Committee is actively engaged in encouraging, supporting, and disseminating research about Montessori education. Among other responsibilities, its members stand ready to field questions and engage in dialogue with fellow Montessori researchers.

The committee brings together individuals with diverse research interests, each experienced in university or professional-level research. Ideally, its members also represent a variety of geographic regions.

Committee members serve a 3-year term and meet monthly via teleconference. For more information, contact the committee co-chairs.

Committee Members

Marie Conti, MEd, Co-Chair and AMS Board Liaison – The Wetherill School
Brooke Culclasure, PhD, Co-Chair – Furman University
Sarah Baird, PhD – Sea Pines Montessori Academy
Katie Brown, PhD – National Center for Montessori in the Public Sector
Liv Christensen, A.B.D. - St. Catherine's Univerisity
Sharon Damore, EdD, Chair Emeritus – DePaul University
Steve Hughes, PhD – Association Montessori International Global Research Committee
Nancy Lindeman – Westminster College
Michael Miller, PhD – University of Wisconsin, River Falls
Vanessa Rigaud, EdD - Xavier University
Laura Saylor, PhD – Mount St. Joseph University 
Sherry Schweighardt, PhD – The College of New Jersey
Tracy Sulak, PhD – Baylor University
Gay Ward, PhD, Immediate Past Co-Chair – University of Wisconsin, River Falls
Susan Zoll, PhD – Rhode Island College
Timothy J. Purnell, EdD, Ex Officio, AMS Executive Director 

The AMS Research Committee is supported by the work of Angela Murray, PhD, assistant research professor at the University of Kansas and AMS senior researcher  & coordinator.

Back to Top