AMS Board of Directors Election Results

For Immediate Release

Contact: Carol Starmack, Chief Operating Officer
Phone: No calls please.

American Montessori Society
116 East 16th Street, New York, NY 10003-2163

January 27, 2016—Last month, members of the American Montessori Society voted to elect the following individuals to the AMS Board of Directors, Their terms of office will begin this March. We look forward to working with them and wish them the best of luck.

Professional Director

Marie ContiMarie Conti 
Head of School, The Wetherill School; Gladwyne, PA
MEd, Chestnut Hill College; Philadelphia, PA
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood)

Chair of the Heads of Schools Section

Renee DuChainey-Farkes 
Head of School, Kingsley Montessori School; Boston, MA
MEd, Boston State College; Boston, MA

Chair of the Teachers Section

SueSuzanne Bayer (Incumbent)
Middle School Program Coordinator and Teacher, Valley Montessori School; Livermore, CA
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood)

Board-Nominated Slate

Joyce PickeringJoyce Pickering (Board President, Incumbent)
Executive Director Emerita, Shelton School & Evaluation Center; Dallas, TX
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood)

Laura SaylorLaura Saylor (Incumbent)
PhD, University of Cincinnati; Cincinnati, OH
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood, Elementary I & II)

Munir ShivjiMunir Shivji (Incumbent)
Director of Toddler and Primary Programs, Cambridge Montessori School; Cambridge, MA
BS, University of Houston; Houston, TX
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood, Administrator)

Sharon DamoreSharon Damore
Executive Director, Association of Illinois Montessori Schools (AIMS)
EdD, Education Leadership
AMS-credentialed (Early Childhood)

Mary Ellen KordasMary Ellen Kordas
Council Member for Montessori Public Policy Initiative
BA, Business Management, St. Mary’s College; Moraga, CA
AMS-credentialed (Administrator)

Back to Top