Bookmark and Share

Become a Member

Your AMS membership supports our vital mission and includes valuable opportunities and benefits.

View more benefits of membership in AMS »

Peace Committee

The mission of the Peace Committee is to serve as an inspiration and resource for the teaching of peace, humanitarianism, and global citizenship in Montessori venues and beyond. Members are responsible for carrying out various group peace activities related to communications and networking, service learning, international connections, and more.

All who wish to be involved  in this dynamic work are enthusiastically welcomed. Please contact Sonnie McFarland, committee chair, or the individual group leader in charge of the peace activity that is of the most interest. 

Committee Members

Sonnie McFarland, Chair
Peace Retreats

Judith Bauerlein, Vice Chair 
Ursula Thrush Peace Seed Grant

Kira Hinkle, Treasurer
AMS Peace Table

Julie Winnette, Secretary
Communications & Networking

Robyn Breiman
AMS Board of Directors

Teri Canaday
Educating for Peace in Public/Charter Schools

Betsy Coe
Montessori Model United Nations (MMUN)

Chandra Fernando
Humanitarian Projects

Lesley Nan Haberman
AMS United Nations Non-Governmental (NGO) Representative

Carla Hofland, Ex Oficio, AMS Director of Member Services

Tom Jankowski
Global Citizens Action Project (GCAP)

Carolyn Kambich
International Connections

Rita Schneider
Montessori Outreach & Sharing

Richard A. Ungerer, Ex Officio, AMS Executive Director

Ruth Veenendaal
Peace Education Resources

Pat Yonka 
Service Learning


Back to Top