Research Committee

A dynamic group of educators, university faculty, and others, the American Montessori Society Research Committee is actively engaged in encouraging, supporting, and disseminating research about Montessori education. Among other responsibilities, its members stand ready to field questions and engage in dialogue with fellow Montessori researchers.

The committee brings together individuals with diverse research interests, each experienced in university or professional-level research. Ideally, its members also represent a variety of geographic regions.

Committee members serve a 3-year term and meet monthly via teleconference. For more information, contact the committee co-chairs.

Committee Members

Janet Hall Bagby, Chair
Sharon Damore, Chair Emeritus
Tim Cauller
Heather Dorer
Ann Epstein
Paul Epstein
Bernie Halloran
Maureen Harris
Steve Hughes
Jamilah Jor’dan
Elida V. Laski
Alyssa Moore
Kathy Roemer
Laura Saylor
Richard A. Ungerer, Ex Officio, AMS Executive Director 
Keith Whitescarver

The AMS Research Committee is supported by the work of Angela Murray, AMS senior researcher  & coordinator.

The Committee gratefully acknowledges the following for their involvement in an advisory capacity: Dr. Marlene Barron, Kathy Carey, Dr. John Chattin-McNichols, Dr. Betsy Coe, Dr. Jacqueline Cossentino, Dr. Carolyn Daoust, Dr. Michelle Moody-Frazier, Dr. Margaret Loeffler, Dr. Ginger McKenzie, Anna Perry, Dr. Phyllis Povell, Dr. Ginny Riga, Dennis Schapiro, and Martha Torrence.

Research Mini-Grants Subcommittee

With support from a team of external proposal reviewers, this subcommittee recommends recipients of AMS research mini-grants, which support Montessori research.

Subcommittee Members

Keith Whitescarver, Chair
Sharon Damore
Alyssa Moore
Angela Murray

Back to Top